Various council members represent MI students on committees and councils within the Faculty of Information and the University of Toronto.

Want to get involved? Take a look at our current council members to see what kind of positions are available. We hold elections in the Fall for first year positions, and Spring for Upper Year positions. Make sure to check our social media and MISC newsletter for updates on how to get involved!

Faculty Council RepresentativesFaculty of Information Alumni Association (FIAA)International Student RepresentativesMISC-MUSSA RepresentativeTech Fund RepresentativesUniversity of Toronto Graduate Student Union (UTGSU)

Faculty Council Representatives

Three seats are allocated for the President, VP Academic Affairs, and Executive Vice President. Our further elected representatives are listed below:

<strong><a href="" data-type="URL" data-id="">Syeda Nudrat Zehra</a></strong>
Syeda Nudrat Zehra
Faculty Council Representative
<strong><strong><a href="" data-type="URL" data-id="">Risa de Rege</a> </strong></strong>
Risa de Rege 
Faculty Council Representative
<strong><strong><strong><a href="" data-type="URL" data-id="">Yuhui Wang</a></strong></strong></strong>
Yuhui Wang
Faculty Council Representative
<strong><strong><a href="" data-type="URL" data-id="">Usman Malik</a></strong></strong>
Usman Malik
Faculty Council Representative
<strong><strong><a href="" data-type="URL" data-id="">Eric Hanson</a></strong></strong>
Eric Hanson
Faculty Council Representative
Faculty Council Representative

University of Toronto Graduate Student Union (UTGSU)

<a href="" data-type="URL" data-id="">Akshata Kularni</a>
Akshata Kularni
UTGSU Representative

MISC Council (2020-21)



President: Katy Czajkowski
Executive Vice-President: Drishti Thakkar
VP-Operations: Eric Hanson
VP-Finance: Will Power
VP-Communications: Alexandra Wong
VP-Academic Affairs: Laura Viselli

Committee Chairs

Professional Development Co-Chair, Upper-Year: Savannah Li
Professional Development Co-Chair, First-Year: Julia Geisler
Social Committee Co-Chairs, Upper-Year: Jessica Peng, Veronica Rutherford
Social Committee Co-Chair, First-year: Ariana Cuvin
Survey Committee Co-Chair, Upper-Year: Grace Chen
Survey Committee Co-Chair, First-year: Lala Kumalasari Sondjaja
Mental Health Committee Co-Chair, Upper-Year: Michael Changhao Gao
Mental Health Committee Co-Chair, First-Year: Natalie Somerset


MISC-MUSSA Liaison: Sara Fontes
Alumni Association Representative: Victoria Yang
Tech Fund Representatives, Upper-Year: Running Zhang, Xinyi Yu
Tech Fund Representative, First-Year: Usman Malik
International Student Representative, Upper-Year: Wing Lam Tse
International Student Representative, First-Year: Yuhui Wang

Awards Committee Representative (Pres): Katy Czajkowski
Programs Committee Representative, Upper-Year (VP-AA): Laura Viselli
Programs Committee Representative, First-Year (EVP): Drishti Thakkar
Committee on Standing Representative (VP-AA): Laura Viselli
Masters Recruitment & Admission Committee (MRAC) (VP-AA): Laura Viselli

Graduate Student Union Representative (Pres): Katy Czajkowksi
Graduate Student Union Representative (EVP): Drishti Thakkar
Graduate Student Union Representative: Akshata Kulkarni

Faculty Council Representative (Pres): Katy Czajkowski
Faculty Council Representative (EVP): Drishti Thakkar
Faculty Council Representative (VP-AA): Laura Viselli
Faculty Council Representatives: Eric Hanson, Yuhui Wang, Usman Malik, Risa de Rege Braga, Nudrat Zehra

Working Groups

Accessibility Interests Working Group Chair: TBA
Diversity Working Group Co-Chairs: TBA
Part-Time Students’ Working Group: TBA